Dykes MedalAll AIS awards except ECs are based on voting by AIS judges on performance in the garden.

HC – Highly Commended – for a non-introduced seedling as judged in the garden and receiving five judged votes.

EC – Exhibition Certificate – awarded to the best seedling in an iris show or receiving five votes from judges present.

HM – Honorable Mention – award for an introduced variety, eligible the second year after its introduction.

AM – Award of Merit – required award for eligibility for all yearly awards (eligible second year after receiving HM)

Special Medals – Yearly awards – given to the top voted cultivar.
Medal Name Iris classification type
Caparne-Welch Medal: Miniature Dwarf Bearded
Cook-Douglas Medal: Standard Dwarf Bearded
Hans and Jacob Sass Medal: Intermediate Bearded
Knowlton Medal: Border Bearded
Williamson-White Medal: Miniature Tall Bearded
John C. Wister Medal: Tall Bearded
C. G. White Medal: Aril (1/4 Ancestry)
William Mohr Medal: ArilBred (pure to 1/2 breed)
Morgan-Wood Medal: Siberian
J. A. Payne Medal: Japanese
Mary Swords Deballion Medal: Louisiana
Founders of SIGNA Medal: Species
Randolph-Perry Medal: Species X
Sydney B. Mitchell Medal: Pacifica
Eric Nies Medal: Spuria
Fred and Barbara Walther Cup: Winner of most HM votes
Dykes Memorial Medal Highest Award of any class
Must have won an AM to qualify